2nd YIMC

2nd YIMC Results

The National Law School of India University, Bangalore, narrowly edged out Strathmore University in the Second Young International Mediation Competition held last week in Hong Kong. 

The top mediator of the week was Concetta Macri of Edith Cowan University, with Nisshant Laroia of .Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar as a close runner-up.  ​ 

The problem involved the Convention on the International Sale of Goods (CISG). The teams, representing Airconditioning supplier  Carlson and its customer Quality, had run into difficulties following problems with the units that in turn delayed ​construction project and led to problems with the developer and later the eventual purchaser of the Penthouse apartment in the development. 

After three days of competition, the two top-ranking teams met on 9th July with professional mediator Danny McFadden. With his assistance they were able to reach a mediated compromise that satisfied both parties’ interests.

Organised by the Vis East Moot Foundation, the YIMC, is unique in that it begins with two days of mediation training and it includes competitions for both counsel teams and student mediators.  

Students were very enthusiastic about the training aspect, and the opportunity to try their hand at facilitating the negotiations.  One team said they “had learnt a vast amount throughout the week that will be invaluable to [us]  in practice ” Others appreciated the practical nature of the training, especially the “musical chairs Role Play” that was a great exercise at the end of the training.” 

The YIMC general rounds and training were hosted by HKIAC and the Semi-final and Final sessions took place at Herbert Smith Freehills.  Special thanks are due to these two hosts as well as to Craig Kersey (UK) who conceived the problem and acted as mediator throughout the week, Delcy Lagones de Anglim, who headed the training component of the week, and to volunteer professional mediators, Donna Ross and Kim Wilson of Australia, as well as Hong Kong Mediators Navin Ahuja, Meena Agnani, Choo Kah Lin, Edward Chow, James Chui, Heather Douglas, Grace Ip, Giovanna Kwong, Stephen Mau, James McKinnon, Eric Ng, Jody Sin, Amarantha Yip.  The click here for the complete list of awards for YIMC2.

Supporting Organisation  
                                                                                                                                                                   Thanks to Herbert Smith Freehills